Things I Learned in Year One

Tomorrow my husband and I will celebrate our first anniversary. Some may be confused, thinking we just got married in June but actually, we had a small ceremony on October 7th, 2011 and then had a larger, Orthodox ceremony in June where all of our family could attend.

Time is a funny thing; sometimes it moves fast and sometimes it moves slow and other times, it seems like it is doing both at the same time. It seems like I’ve been married forever and can hardly remember life without him but at the same time, it seems like a blink. As I blogged a week or two (or maybe longer, I don’t remember) ago, the year has been pretty crazy. We’ve been through a lot of things, things most newlyweds don’t experience in their first year. When people laugh and say, “Oh you are just newlyweds!” sometimes I want to say, yeah but… Anyways, I’ve learned a lot about myself, including the following:

  1. I am usually wrong and my husband is usually right (don’t tell him though!)
  2. Men are confusing creatures – mostly because they are usually straightforward
  3. Sometimes it is better to wait to do something rather than doing it right away
  4. Becoming Orthodox is hard

I’m sure there are a million more things but that’s all I’ve got for now. May God grant us many more years!

2 responses to “Things I Learned in Year One

  1. Seems like a blink to me. I still remember like it was yesterday sitting ina Orlando, FL Starbucks watching the silent film of your wedding, I wanted to be there so badly.
    I am glad you have learned so much and I know you will have many many more years together. Love you both!

Leave a Reply

