A Series of Fortunate Events

In the last week, we have had a series of interesting encounters and experiences. The first was when we went to redeem our second of two massages we received for Christmas (thanks Mom!). One thing you should know is that for our first massage, the masseuse talked the entire time. Every second of my hour (actually 90 minutes by the time all was said and done) massage was filled with her telling me about her life and boyfriend/fiance/husband – I am still unclear which he is – and many other things I simply can’t remember. She commented at the end that, “She had never talked that much during a massage.” Lucky me. It certainly didn’t have that relaxing effect you expect. So as I anticipated my second round a month later, I was kinda hoping for a relaxing experience. No such luck.

My husband went first while I sat and read for an hour. He returned to the waiting room when he was done, and I moved into position for my turn. About as soon as I hit the bed, I knew this really was going to be round two. While I was in the waiting room, she had asked me what I was reading. I showed her my book, Bad Religion: How we became a nation of heretics, and she immediately looked it up on GoodReads. I told her a little about the book, and she seemed interested, but not really in an I’m interested in hearing what you think about the book way but more of a I want to tell you what I think about the world way. For the next hour, I listened as she expounded on her view of the world and Christianity. She outlined numerous conspiracy theories and an unorthodox view of Christ, explaining that she came to believe in Jesus Christ because no other magician or demon would die for her. A child of a Jewish witch, baptized by Ted Haggard as a young adult, exorcised of demons by an African prince, her views were heterodox to say the least. When she asked for my response, I simply said that since I am not her, I could never denigrate the way anyone came to knowledge of Christ or their process along the way. She is on a journey, along with all us who make up humanity. The only thing I wish is that she had been a little more interested in listening during our conversation. But then again, sometimes people just need someone else to listen.

One response to “A Series of Fortunate Events

  1. Wow! Your right sometimes people just need someone to listen, you did a great job. God works in mysterious ways and for that I am forever thankful.

Leave a Reply

