On being (or not being) an Intellectual – And Relativism

Today I made the decision that as much as I would like to think I am, I don’t believe I am cut out to be an intellectual. Maybe its that I don’t enjoy reading things that take a great amount of focus to comprehend what the writer is talking about. Maybe that is because I don’t spend enough time doing it (at times of the day when my brain is working well) to grow to enjoy it. Maybe I haven’t been trained enough in philosophy and Latin. Or maybe I’m just simply not intelligent enough to grasp some concepts. Whatever the reason, I’m certainly not feeling very intellectual tonight.

On to the subject that left me feeling incompetent in the ways of intellectuals: relativism. In working on my dissertation, I have concluded that the deep and dark enemy of the souls of Christian athletes (and Christians in general) is relativism. Ok, relativism isn’t the enemy, that is actually Satan but he is choosing to use relativism to reek havoc on the American and European Church. Many people I respect have spoken about it in the last 50 years or so (although many think this is a new thing… but then I suppose 50 years in the scope of all of history is rather new). C.S. Lewis spoke about it in The Poison of Subjectivism saying:

“Out of this apparently innocent idea comes the disease that will certainly end our species (and, in my view, damn our souls) if it is not crushed; the fatal superstition that men can create values, that a community can choose its ‘ideology’ as men choose their clothes.”

Strong words, but I am inclined to agree with him. The moment truth becomes “an expression of personal emotion” rather than an unmovable entity, the gospel is changed from blood to bath water. If there is no truth, nothing immovable, then Jesus is a liar. He said that He is, “…the way, and the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through Me” (John 14:6). If there isn’t any truth, but there is a god (some kind of cosmic being that exists, though we don’t know him or what he is like), then there can’t possibly be ONE way to get to know him. And if Jesus is a liar, then we Christians are to be pitied above all men, as Paul says in 1 Corinthians 15:19. I know that is a rather simple explanation of relativism, but I figure it is better to just cut to the chase than wallow around in philosophies. Next time perhaps I’ll feel a bit more intellectual.

2 responses to “On being (or not being) an Intellectual – And Relativism

  1. You have hit the nail on the head. The gospel has always been a stumbling block and will remain so. Christians have long been accused of being narrow-minded. But the Way IS narrow. There is a pride involved when we think that Christ and His sacrifice was not enough. And then when the gospel is preached without exception, there is an uproar. The problem, in my opinion, is that the world has no real concept of what sin is. It is on a sliding scale. There also is no realization of God’s love and grace.

    Also, you are perhaps the most intellectual person I know. You make my brain hurt sometimes!

Leave a Reply

