Faith Part 1

This week started with a lesson from God about faith. It came out of Hebrews and it went something like this:

Faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen. Faith means expecting. The discipline of chosing faith over sin produces peaceful righteousness in my life. That peace results in holiness, without which no one will see the Lord.

I thought that was the lesson, but apparently that was just the beginning of my lesson on faith, the introduction if you will. Maybe “starting point” is a better understanding. Hebrews 5 says, “For though by this time you ought to be teachers, you need somone to teach you again the first principles of the oracles of God; and you have come to need milk and not solid food. For everyone who partakes only of milk is unskilled in the word of righteousness for he is a babe. But solid food belongs to those who are of full age, that is, those who by reason of use have their senses exercised to discern both good and evil.” Faith is one of the things the God says is elementary and yet, this is the very thing He wants to teach me about.

Yes, that means I’m a baby.

A friend told me today about how God led him to his destination in his car. No, he had never been there before. And no, if you knew this friend, you would know there was no possible way they could navigate themselves to a new destination. This friend gets lost going places they have been several times.

I want to hear God like that. And you know what is weird? I’m convinced that God wants me to hear him like that too. So… I’m getting ready to strap in for what I’m sure will be a wild ride.

“Is He safe?” “No. But He’s good.”

2 responses to “Faith Part 1

Leave a Reply

