Prone to Wander

Someone recently (about 5 minutes ago) told me that Christians are prone to wander. While I definitely agree with that statement, I am wondering why that is the case. The Word of God tells us, “Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good; Blessed is the man who trusts in Him!” (Psalm 34:8). So if we have tasted and know that the Lord is good, why do we wander? How could we be so foolish?!

I don’t say this as a critic or as someone making a judgement, but rather as someone who has wandered many times – sometimes into sin and sometimes into the wilderness and sometimes to a place that is just dead. Wandering seems so natural to me – forgetting who I am and what I’m about, choosing things that I’ve chosen a hundred times already to leave behind, and accepting things I’ve rejected a hundred times.  Why oh why do I do this? Why do any of us do this?  I wonder if this is one of the reasons why Jesus calls us sheep (even after we have come to know him). Just because we are called by God, named by Him as His child, and perfected in Him through the work of Jesus on the cross, doesn’t mean we aren’t still sheep who are prone to act like sheep.

I am so thankful that the everlasting God would choose to chase after His wandering sheep over and over again. Rachel means lamb – so needless to say, I’m great at playing the sheep’s role. Many times I’ve felt like my name could have been Wanderer. As much as I love my given name and what it means, I’m thankful that God gives new names: Forgiven, Beloved, Hidden in Christ, God’s Image Bearer, Righteous, Holy, Reborn, Remade, Accepted, Worthy, Beautiful, Faith, One who Brings Good News, Joy, Faithful, Redeemed. The list could go on and on.

Praise God for redemption. Though we sold ourselves for nothing, God bought us back without money by the blood, sweat, tears, flogging, beating, excruciating suffering, and utter abandonment of His only Son. All this so He could be glorified through our salvation and redemption back to Himself. What a God. There is no other God like that.

2 responses to “Prone to Wander

  1. Amen friend! Amen.

    And as I read your blog, I got a mental picture of myself wandering through Target. I go for a purpose but somehow I always wander through the entire store. Sometimes the shoes grab me, sometimes, the housewares, sometimes the underwear…
    🙂

  2. I agree with Ali in saying that I also tend to wonder while in Target…I go in for a birthday card and end up back in the shoes, clothes, jewelery, or purses. It is a bad habit I always allow myself to fall into and later wonder why?

    I also do the same with God, in the respect that I tend to say I am going to do one thing and then I end up doing a ton of other things that have nothing to do with the goal in mind. Then after wards I feel horrible and as if I betrayed God in all my wandering.

    You think I would have learned my lesson the first time. However just like with Target the same thing happens over and over…wander wander wander!

    Thank you for writing your heart Rachel and being so open with us. This blog really spoke to me today!

Leave a Reply

