Reading the Psalms

One thing I vastly underestimated was the amount of time that I would spend nursing. I suppose some babies are speedy but mine is a “rester,” which means he is in no particular hurry to eat. He will nurse for an hour or longer if I would let him. This translates to a lot of time! To fill this time, we’ve started reading the Psalter and so far have made it to Psalms 65. Personally, I think this is the most valuable thing we could do with our time.

Many times, I am very tired while we are reading and it is all I can do to stay awake while I read. But I think back to Good Friday this past Pascha and remember that St. Catherine kept a vigil all night reading the Psalter and Isaiah. I think of my reading like that. A vigil, a way to watch and pray. I hope and pray that it is like investing in Shehadeh’s spiritual bank account and that someday, it will pay dividends.

Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy upon us sinners!

Leave a comment